Frequently Asked Questions

Quick search for easy answers to Frequently Asked Questions

Q. Do the OPTIFAST VLCD products contain lactose?

All the OPTIFAST VLCD products contain some quantity of lactose. The amount of lactose may be tolerated by some people, however it can be individual and it may be a matter of trial and error to see what products you can manage.  You could also seek advice from your healthcare professional about lactase enzyme tablets, which may be taken with your OPTIFAST VLCD products.  Lactase enzyme tablets are available from your local pharmacy. The lactose content of each of the OPTIFAST VLCD products is:

• OPTIFAST VLCD Chocolate Shake – 9.0g per serve
• OPTIFAST VLCD Vanilla Flavour Shake – 9.5g per serve
• OPTIFAST VLCD Strawberry Flavour Shake – 9.5g per serve
• OPTIFAST VLCD Coffee Shake – 8.5g per serve
• OPTIFAST VLCD Banana Flavour Shake – 9.5g per serve
• OPTIFAST VLCD Caramel Flavour Shake – 9.5g per serve
• OPTIFAST VLCD Chai Flavour Shake – 8.5g per serve
• OPTIFAST VLCD Mocha Shake –9.0 g per serve
• OPTIFAST VLCD Chocolate Dessert - 8g per serve
• OPTIFAST VLCD Lemon Crème Dessert  -8.0g per serve
• OPTIFAST VLCD Chicken Flavour Soup – 9.5g per serve
• OPTIFAST VLCD Vegetable Soup - 7.4g per serve
• OPTIFAST VLCD Tomato Country Style Soup  - 8.0g per serve
• OPTIFAST VLCD Chocolate Bar - 0.8g per serve
• OPTIFAST VLCD Cappuccino Flavour Bar - 0.8g per serve
• OPTIFAST VLCD Berry Crunch Flavour Bar - 0.12 g per serve
• OPTIFAST VLCD Cereal Bar 0.3g per serve

Q. Are the OPTIFAST VLCD products gluten free?

The OPTIFAST VLCD Shakes, Desserts and Soups are all gluten free and are suitable for people with Coeliac Disease or gluten intolerance. The OPTIFAST VLCD Cereal bar contains gluten and therefore is not suitable for individuals with Coeliac Disease. 

The OPTIFAST VLCD Chocolate, Cappuccino Flavour & Berry Crunch Flavour Bars do not contain gluten containing ingredients however, are made on equipment that also processes oats.  Although there are no gluten-containing ingredients in these products, there is a chance of contamination and the OPTIFAST VLCD Chocolate, Cappuccino Flavour & Berry Crunch Flavour Bars are therefore not suitable for those with Coeliac Disease or gluten intolerance. 

Q. Do the OPTIFAST VLCD products contain soy?

Yes, all of the OPTIFAST VLCD products contain soy based ingredients such as soy lecithin, or soy protein isolate.

Q. Does OPTIFAST VLCD contain egg or nuts?

The OPTIFAST VLCD products are not formulated to contain egg, nuts, or ingredients derived from these.  However, the OPTIFAST VLCD Bars are produced on equipment that also processes products containing tree nuts and peanuts.  Therefore, these products may contain traces of these ingredients, so best avoided if you are highly allergic to them. 

Q. I am following a low FODMAP diet. Is the OPTIFAST VLCD Program suitable?

The OPTIFAST VLCD products may not be suitable for those on a low FODMAP diet, as each product contains at least one high FODMAP ingredient. For some people, it may only be certain FODMAP ingredients that affect them and need to be avoided. Therefore, some OPTIFAST VLCD products may be more suitable than others.